1945 – Established

Peter J. Moll and his wife Elisabeth had to exhibit energy and talent for improvisation at the production site at Bad Staffelstein, as at that time there was a lack of raw materials, equipment, machinery and money. Barely a year later, the first motor vehicle battery left the factory: with a high proportion of recyclable materials from used batteries. The customer base quickly grew beyond the borders of Bavaria.

Today

MOLL has become an expert in battery technology and is an important partner for the automotive industry. A constant flow of awards from testing laboratories such as ADAC and Stiftung Warentest (a German consumer organisation), etc. confirm the high quality of our "Made in Upper Franconia" products..

2014

Strategic partnership with the CHAOWEI group. This partnership will provide the right conditions for a medium-sized family business to meet the challenges posed by a global economy. 

2012

First deliveries of EFB start|stop and micro-hybrid technology as an OEM
for Audi A1, A3, as well as for Volkswagen Passat and Golf VII.

2010

Development of enhanced flooded batteries for the automotive industry. Ideal for environmentally-friendly start-stop vehicles and their specific requirements. MOLL EFB technology combines the advantages and robustness of traditional lead-acid batteries with a superior capacity and a lifespan over three times longer.

2007

VRLA/AGM batteries for the automotive industry. Designed for the most demanding use in vehicles with high energy requirements or for tough continuous operation.

2004

Development of double-lid type K2 (non-spillable battery), new development of highest protection against leakage in accordance with the stringent requirements of the automotive industry.

2000 Patent

Battery state determination (BSD) system. The BSD system continuously measures current, voltage, temperature, etc., and also calculates the correct state of charge (SoC) of the battery.

Using this information, the vehicle electrical system can be controlled by the connection and disconnection of consumer loads, so that no negative charge balance occurs. OBJECTIVE: to maintain the battery fully charged by switching off unnecessary consumer loads and regulating the generator voltage.

1990

Adapter flash arrestor, patented backfire protection

1985

Ocean Power deepwater battery for use at depths of down to 10,000 metres

1976

Intercell connection with Schneidring

1971

New batteries in polypropylene containers

From 1953

Production of maintenance-free MOLL Kamina battery, which was sold in millions, revolutionised the motorcycle industry. Further Moll special solutions all along characterised the market and required plant expansion at the Bad Staffelstein site.

1945 Gründungsjahr

Tatkraft und Improvisationstalent stellten Peter J. Moll und seine Frau Elisabeth am Produktionsstandort Bad Staffelstein unter Beweis, denn es fehlte zu diesem Zeitpunkt an allem, Rohstoffen, Ausrüstungen, Maschinen und Geld. Nur knapp ein Jahr später verließ die erste Kraftfahrzeugbatterie das Werk: mit einem hohen Anteil an wiederverwertbaren Materialien aus Altbatterien. Rasch wuchs der Kundenkreis über die Grenzen Bayerns hinaus.

heute

MOLL hat sich zum Experten im Batterietechnikbereich und zum wichtigen Partner der Automobilindustrie entwickelt, stetige Auszeichnungen durch Prüflabore wie ADAC, Stiftung Warentest etc. bestätigen die gute Qualität "Made in Oberfranken".

2014

Strategische Partnerschaft mit der CHAOWEI-Gruppe. Mit dieser Partnerschaft werden die Voraussetzungen dafür geschaffen, auch als mittelständisches Familienunternehmen sich den Herausforderungen einer global agierenden Wirtschaft erfolgreich anzunehmen.  

2012

Start der Belieferung mit EFB start/stop und Microhybridtechnologie als Erstausrüster
für Audi A1, A3 sowie für Volkswagen Passat und Golf VII.

2010

Neuentwicklung von Enhanced-Flooded-Batterien für die Automobilindustrie. Ideal für umweltfreundliche Start-Stop-Fahrzeuge und deren spezifische Anforderungen. Die MOLL EFB-Technologie verbindet die Vorteile und Robustheit der klassischen Blei-Säure-Batterie mit hervorragender Belastbarkeit und mehr als dreifacher Zyklenlebensdauer.

2007

VRLA/AGM-Batterien für die Automobilindustrie (Vliesbatterien). Entwickelt für stärkste Beanspruchung im Fahrzeug mit hohem Energiebedarf oder für den harten Dauereinsatz.

2004 Patent

Entwicklung Doppeldeckel Typ K2 (kippsichere Batterie), Neuentwicklung für höchsten Auslaufschutz entsprechend den hohen Anforderungen der Automobilindustrie.

2000 Patent

Batterie-Zustands-Erkennung (BZE) Die BZE misst ständig Strom, Spannung, Temperatur usw. und berechnet darüber den korrekten Ladezustand der Batterie.

Mit dieser Information kann das Bordnetz über Zu- und Abschaltung von Verbrauchern so geregelt werden, dass keine negative Ladebilanz der Batterie auftritt. ZIEL: Die Batterie durch Abschaltung von nicht notwendigen Verbrauchern und Regelung der Generatorspannung stets vollgeladen zu halten.

1990 Patent

Adapterfritte, patentierter Rückzündschutz

1985

Ocean-Power Tiefseebatterie für den Einsatz in bis zu 10.000 Metern Tiefe

1976 Patent

Mittelwandverbindung mit Schneidring

1971

Neue Batterien im Polypropylen Gehäuse.

ab 1953

Die Lieferung der bis heute millionenfach bewährten wartungsfreien MOLL Kamina revolutioniert die Motorradindustrie. Stetige weitere Moll-Speziallösungen prägen den Markt und fordern angepasste Werkserweiterungen am Standort Bad Staffelstein.